Statnetts board of directors

Pursuant to the decision of Statnett’s annual enterprise meeting, the Board shall consist of seven to nine members. Two or three members of the Board must be elected by and from among the employees. Read more about our board of directors below.
  Statnetts board of directors




Per Hjorth

Board member since 2008, Chairman since 2015


Directorships: Working chairman of Newsec Norway and Board member of the Nordic Newsec companies.

Previous positions: A number of executive positions in the industry, finance and energy sectors, including CEO of Nord Pool ASA.


Synne Homble, Board member


Synne Homble

Board member since 2013, Deputy Chair since 2015

Head of the Remuneration Committee


Previous positions: Chief Officer Mobility and Strategy in the NSB Group, Executive Vice President of Cermag Group AS / Cermaq ASA, lawyer at the law firm Wikborg Rein and member of the Norwegian National Contact Point for the OECD.


Maria Sandmark, Board member


Maria Sandsmark


Board member since 2013


Member of the Remuneration Committee and the Project Committee


Previous positions: Researcher at Møreforskning Molde AS, Associate Professor at Molde University College and consultant at ECON analysis.


Egil Gjesteland, Board member


Egil Gjesteland

Board member since 2012

Head of the Project Committee


Directorships: Egypt Solar B.V.

Previous positions: Owner of Gjesteland Consulting, IT Director and Project Director for a number of Statoil’s oil and gas projects.



Einar Anders Strømsvåg

Board member since 2015

Head of the Audit Committee


Directorships: Chairman of the Western Norway Regional Health Authority, member of the Executive Board of the Confederation of Norwegian Enterprise (NHO).

Previous positions: Senior Advisor at Statoil, as well as various executive positions at Statoil, including director of the Group Audit function.


Kirsten Indgjerd Værdal, Board member


Kirsten Indgjerd Værdal

Board member since 2009

Member of the Audit Committee


Directorships: Board memberships in the public and private sector, as well as organisations.

Previous positions: Senior Agricultural Adviser for Innovation and Development at the County Governor’s office in Nord-Trøndelag, Director of Agriculture and various executive positions in the food industry.

Nils Ole Kristensen


Nils Ole Kristensen

Employee-elected Board member since 2016, employee since 2000

Member of the Remuneration Committee.


Previous positions: Various positions including tariff design, international consultancy and engineering. Previously employed by the Norwegian Water Resources and Energy Directorate. Head of the Statnett branch of the Norwegian Society of Graduate Technical and Scientific Professional (Tekna). 


Steinar Jøråndstad, Employee representative


Steinar Jøråndstad

Employee-elected Board member since 2004, employee since 1981

Member of the project committee


Previous positions: Team coordinator in Statnett’s division for Systems Operations, Asset Management and Markets, Head of the nationwide Electrician and IT Workers Union, member of the Working Environment Committee and Chief Safety Representative at Statnett.

 Karianne Burhol


Karianne Burhol

Employee-elected Board member since 2016, employee since 2005

Member of the Audit Committee.


Previous positions: Department Manager for Statnett’s construction managers for power line projects, as well as Project Manager for construction projects.

Published - Last updated